stats for wordpress

Are you on Facebook?

Would you please click "like" in the box to your right, or

Visit us on Facebook!

Post image for GLAAD Announces Media Award Nominees, The New Civil Rights Movement Honored To Be Included

GLAAD Announces Media Award Nominees, The New Civil Rights Movement Honored To Be Included

by David Badash on January 16, 2013

in News

GLAAD today announced the nominees for the 24th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, which “celebrate outstanding representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community and our allies on TV, in film, and in the news.” From “Outstanding Film – Wide Release,” to “Outstanding Magazine Article,” to “Outstanding New York Theater: Off-Off Broadway,” to “Outstanding Digital Journalism – Multimedia (Spanish Language),” GLAAD this year is recognizing 153 nominees (120 English, 33 Spanish-language) in 33 categories (25 English, 8 Spanish-language).

“Vying for Outstanding Film: Wide Release is The Perks of Being a Wallflower, starring out actor Ezra Miller with Logan Lerman and Emma Watson. A film about youth, Perks is nominated alongside The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, a film about an older gay man played by Tom Wilkinson, with Judi Dench and Maggie Smith. Other nominees include the ambitious sci-fi epic Cloud Atlas, co-directed by Lana Wachowski who is openly transgender, My Sister’s Sister, and the PG-rated animated film, ParaNorman,” GLAAD today announced:

Other nominees include American Horror Story: Asylum, The Amazing Race, How to Survive a Plague, Days of Our Lives, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart, the Buffy the Vampire Slayer comic book series, and Bring it On: The Musical.

Among the journalism nominees, Good Morning America has been nominated for Outstanding TV Journalism Segment for the Robin Roberts interview with President Barack Obama in which he speaks out in support of marriage equality. Other journalism nominees include Melissa Harris-Perry, CNN Newsroom, Sports Illustrated, Seventeen, USA Today, and

The GLAAD Media Awards will be held in three locations: March 16 in New York, April 20 in Los Angeles, and May 11 in San Francisco. The 24th Annual GLAAD Media Awards are presented by Ketel One Vodka and Wells Fargo.

Again this year, The New Civil Rights Movement is honored and extremely grateful to be included within an excellent group in the “Outstanding Blog” category. Our fellow nominees include Autostraddle, blac(k)ademic, Rod 2.0, and last year’s co-winner (with Mombian), Towleroad. We extend our deep and sincere congratulations to our fellow nominees.

You can get tickets here, and read some fascinating statistics and information about the nominees and the criteria here.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


We invite you to sign up for our new mailing list, and subscribe to The New Civil Rights Movement via email or RSS.

Also, please like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: